Deadline Extended to January 16, 2024!

Who is eligible?

We recognize Alaska youth, ages 12-19, statewide. Nominations can be submitted for an individual or a group.

Nominations can come from anyone who wishes to recognize a hard-working Alaska teenager. Nominations can be made in one of 8 categories. Recommendations often come from school staff and board members; youth clubs and organizations; the business community or other teenagers. Any community member inspired by a teen’s efforts can submit a nomination.

What are the benefits of nominating a youth?

Nominees are eligible to be selected for the Spirit of Youth Award each year. Eight nominees are chosen by the Spirit of Youth Teen Advisory Council to receive the award and be featured on our Spirit of Youth radio series, which broadcasts to nearly 100 Alaska communities. Individual award recipients will receive a scholarship from Alaska 529 of up to $2,000 and eight runners-up will each receive a $500 scholarship. Group recipients receive a grant to support their efforts.

Nomination Instructions

Important! Do not navigate away from page after pressing submit until you see a confirmation at the bottom of this page.

It is not necessary to complete every line though questions with a * are required. Please enter as much information as you can. After submitting your nomination you will see a confirmation message at the bottom of the screen. If you do not see a confirmation message please contact us as your nomination may not have gone through.

**NOTE** If you’d like to include large file, or a video with your nomination, email

If you would like to print a copy and mail it to us, download a hard copy nomination form.

Person Submitting This Form

Person/Group Being Recognized

Other References

Click to read about categories and evaluation criteria Select up to 2 Categories
Please include as much detail and description as possible when answering the following questions. The teen action council will use this information to select media stories and annual recognition winners.